New Creation

 

The story begins.  When the universe was swirling chaos with no form or function, God created.  He passed over the waters and brought order.  And from the chaos was born life.  From the formless, beauty was born.

God’s creative power is at work in us still, and has been throughout history.  Storytellers honed their craft weaving together the stories about God that had been passed down from generations past.  Skilled artisans and builders expressed their love for the Eternal God in the works of the Tabernacle and later the Temple, the Ark of the Covenant and all of the items used in worship.  Poets and musicians made beautiful music, expressing both praise and lament, joy and confession to the God who breathed creative spirit into them.  Today is no different.  God’s creative spirit has been poured out on his creation, and we participate in his sustaining creative work with our very lives.

That is where this blog is born from.  For as long as I can remember, I have used words in a way that no one else did.  Sometimes that meant no one knew what I was talking about (and I did indeed often speak what seemed like another language).  But sometimes it meant that my unique perspective, my way of expressing a concept was the one that could connect the dots for someone else.  As I’ve grown to know and love God more, I find that I need to express the way he reveals himself to me, the things I am learning through the Holy Spirit from scripture.  There are also many stories about God that haven’t been told.  Some of them are my own, and I think it’s time for me to learn how to tell them.

This is a new endeavor for me, one that frightens me a little.  It’s a little like giving birth.  It will be messy, and I won’t always push quite right or at exactly the right time.  But my hope and prayer is that this process will reveal the New Thing God has been trying to create in my life for some time now, and I’m finally on board.  I hope you’ll join me on this journey.  I can’t wait to see where it takes us.

~Emily

Leave a Reply

